Data sources & methodology
Every figure on this site is built from public datasets published by Singapore government agencies. This page lists each one, what we take from it, and exactly how a record ends up published or excluded.
Datasets used
| Dataset | Publisher | Licence | Source updates | Accessed on |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ACRA Information on Corporate Entities | Accounting and Corporate Regulatory Authority (ACRA), via data.gov.sg | Singapore Open Data Licence version 1.0 | Monthly (per the data.gov.sg collection description) | 2026-11-04 |
| Government Procurement via GeBIZ | Ministry of Finance, via data.gov.sg | Singapore Open Data Licence version 1.0 | Not stated by the publisher; covers tenders from FY2021 (April 2021) onward | 2026-11-04 |
| Listing of Registered Contractors | Building and Construction Authority (BCA), via data.gov.sg | Singapore Open Data Licence version 1.0 | Not stated by the publisher | 2026-11-04 |
| HDB Property Information | Housing & Development Board (HDB), via data.gov.sg | Singapore Open Data Licence version 1.0 | Not stated by the publisher | 2026-11-04 |
| Singapore Standard Industrial Classification (SSIC) 2025 | Department of Statistics Singapore (SingStat) | SingStat Terms of Use (Contents licence, clause 10) | Revised every five years (per ACRA's SSIC page) | 2026-09-18 |
"Accessed on" is the day our pipeline downloaded the file. It runs on the 4th and 18th of every month and downloads the ACRA, GeBIZ, BCA and HDB datasets again each time. The GeBIZ dataset (published by the Ministry of Finance) lists tenders from FY2021 onward, so tender awards before April 2021 are not shown. The SSIC 2025 classification structure comes from SingStat's own website, under SingStat's Terms of Use (clause 10), not from data.gov.sg; we update it when a new edition is published.
Attribution, as the Singapore Open Data Licence version 1.0 requires:
Contains information from ACRA Information on Corporate Entities accessed on 2026-11-04 from data.gov.sg which is made available under the terms of the Singapore Open Data Licence version 1.0 (https://data.gov.sg/open-data-licence).
Contains information from Government Procurement via GeBIZ accessed on 2026-11-04 from data.gov.sg which is made available under the terms of the Singapore Open Data Licence version 1.0 (https://data.gov.sg/open-data-licence).
Contains information from Listing of Registered Contractors accessed on 2026-11-04 from data.gov.sg which is made available under the terms of the Singapore Open Data Licence version 1.0 (https://data.gov.sg/open-data-licence).
Contains information from HDB Property Information accessed on 2026-11-04 from data.gov.sg which is made available under the terms of the Singapore Open Data Licence version 1.0 (https://data.gov.sg/open-data-licence).
What we take from each dataset
- ACRA Information on Corporate Entities — UEN, name, entity and company type, status, incorporation date, registered address, primary and secondary SSIC codes, former names, auditor, and filing due dates. We do not import
unit_no,level_no, other free-text address lines, or the officer count. - GeBIZ Government Procurement — awarded tenders (agency, description, date, amount), matched to a company only when its normalised name matches exactly one live, published entity's normalised name.
- BCA Listing of Registered Contractors — workhead, grade and registration expiry, matched by UEN. Contact fields in the source (phone number, unit number) are not imported.
- HDB Property Information — used only to detect whether a registered address is inside a residential-only HDB block, so we can show a street and postal district instead of a full address for those entities (see "Address handling" below).
- SSIC 2025 — the official section and sub-class titles used on every/ssic/ page, so a code always resolves to the same canonical name regardless of which company links to it.
How a record is selected
Starting from ACRA's full register, we apply these steps in order:
- Exclude sole proprietorships and partnerships. Their registered particulars belong to a natural person, not a company, so they are removed entirely — never stored beyond this filtering step, never shown anywhere on the site.
- Exclude names that look personal. A limited liability partnership or limited partnership whose name contains no legal-form or business word (for example, a law firm named after its partners) is treated the same way as a sole proprietorship: removed entirely.
- Drop entities that are no longer live. Only entities with a "Live" or "Live Company" status are eligible to be shown.
- Require a real primary SSIC code. An entity with no activity code is not eligible for scoring.
- Score the remainder on government tenders won, BCA registration, a non-residential address, years of operation, having an auditor, a former name, and a secondary SSIC code — see the full formula below.
- Publish the best 15,000 among entities that meet the page's own minimum-content gate (at least 2 of: secondary SSIC, former name, auditor, a GeBIZ award, a BCA registration, or 3+ years operating). Of that wave,12,000 have a live page in the current deploy; the rest appear only as an unlinked row on a category page until they are published. The number of live pages starts at 3,000 (first published 2026-09-20) and grows by 3,000 every 14 days, up to the full wave.
From ACRA's most recent full register (2,124,508 rows),1,046,498 were sole proprietorships or partnerships and 23,990 more had a name that looked personal — both excluded outright. Of the remainder,578,329 were no longer live. That leaves475,691 live, eligible entities, of which208,731 meet the page's minimum-content gate, and the best 15,000 of those make up the current wave.
Scoring formula
| Factor | Points |
|---|---|
| Matched GeBIZ government tender award | +3 |
| Matched BCA contractor registration | +2 |
| Non-residential registered address | +2 |
| Every 5 years of operation, up to +4 | +1 |
| Auditor on file | +1 |
| Has at least one former registered name | +1 |
| Has a secondary SSIC code | +1 |
Where two entities tie on score, the one incorporated earlier is ranked first.
Address handling
If a registered address's block and street match an HDB block flagged as residential-only in HDB's own data, we show only the street name and the postal district — never the block number, unit number or full postal code. Every other registered address is shown in full, as ACRA publishes it, minus the unit and level number, which we never import at all.
What we compute ourselves
- The postal district (D01–D28) from the first two digits of the postal code.
- Years of operation, from the incorporation date to the date the data was collected.
- The GeBIZ and BCA matches described above.
- The score and the resulting wave.
- The SSIC section a code belongs to, from the official SSIC 2025 structure.
We do not calculate a credit score, a risk rating, or any other judgement about a company. Every number on this site is a direct or lightly-derived fact from the source data listed above, not an opinion.
UEN Lookup is an independent website, not a service of ACRA or of any other Singapore Government agency. It republishes public register data under theSingapore Open Data Licence version 1.0. It is not affiliated with, endorsed by or connected to ACRA, Bizfile, data.gov.sg, SingStat, BCA or the Singapore Government. For a company's official record, usebizfile.gov.sg.